A True Story about Morals and Akhlaq (3)

     قال الله عز وجل: { وَإِنَّكَ لَعَلَى خُلُقٍ عَظِيم} سورة القلم 4.

     Allah -the Exalted- says: {And Verily, you (O, Muhammad) are of an exalted moral character} (Surah 68, verse 4).

    وعن أنس بن مالك رضي الله عنه قال: ( خَدَمْتُ النَّبِيَّ ‏صَلّى اللهُ عليهِ وسلَّم عَشْرَ سِنِينَ فما قالَ لِي أُفٍّ قَطُّ، وما قالَ لِشَيْءٍ صَنَعْتُهُ لِمَ صَنَعْتَهُ وَلَا لِشَيْءٍ تَرَكْتُهُ لِمَ تَرَكْتَهُ، وكان رسولُ الله ‏صَلّى اللهُ عليهِ وسلَّم مِنْ أَحْسَنِ النَّاسِ خُلُقًا، ولا مَسَسْتُ خَزًّا قَطُّ ولا حَرِيرًا ولا شَيْئًا كَانَ أَلْيَنَ مِنْ كَفِّ رَسُولِ اللَّهِ ‏صَلّى اللهُ عليهِ وسلَّم، ولا شَمَمْتُ مِسْكًا قَطُّ وَلَا عِطْرًا كَانَ أَطْيَبَ مِنْ عَرَقِ رَسُولِ اللَّهِ صَلّى اللهُ عليهِ وسلَّم). رواه الترمذي، وأخرجه الشيخان.

   Narrated Anas Ibn Malik -may Allah be pleased with him- said: “I served the Messenger of Allah -prayer and peace be upon him- for ten years, and he never said a word of displeasure to me (Uff), nor did he ever say to me concerning something I had done: ‘Why did you do that’.  And he never said to me concerning something I had not done: ‘Why did you not do this’. He had the best character, and I never touched any silk or anything else that was softer than the palm of the Messenger of Allah -prayer and peace be upon him.  And I never smelled any musk or perfume that had a better fragrance than the sweat of the Messenger of Allah -prayer and peace be upon him.”  Related by Al-Tirmidhi, also related by Al-Bukhari and Muslim.

 

   ‘A Man from Paradise’

 

Narrated Anas Ibn Malik -may Allah be pleased with him- said: “While we were sitting with the Messenger of Allah -prayer and peace be upon him, he said: ‘A man from the people of Paradise will come out to you now.’  So a man from the tribe of Al-Ansaar came out, whose beard was dripping from his ablution, and he had hung his shoes in his left hand.  When the next morning came, the Prophet -prayer and peace be upon him- said the same thing, so the same man came out like the first time.  On the third day, the Prophet -prayer and peace be upon him- said the same thing again, and the same man came out in the same first condition.

When the Prophet -prayer and peace be upon him- left, Abdul-Allah Ibn Amr followed the Ansaari man and said to him: ‘I have quarreled with my father and I have sworn to avoid him for three days, so if you could let me stay with you until they pass.’  He replied: ‘Yes.’

Anas said: Abdul-Allah related that he slept those three nights in the man’s house, and he did not see him praying any voluntary prayer at night.  However, whenever he woke up, he would roll over on his bed and mention Allah -the Almighty- and say Allahu Akbar (Allah is the Greatest) until the dawn prayer.

Abdul-Allah said: ‘But I only heard him speak good.  When the three nights had passed and I almost scorned his deed, I said to him: O Abdul-Allah, there was not any quarrel or abandonment between my father and me, but I heard the Messenger of Allah -prayer and peace be upon him- say three times about you: `A man from the people of Paradise will come out to you now,`  and you came out on the three times.  So I wanted to stay with you and find out about your deed, and do likewise.  But I did not see you doing any great deed, so what made you reach what the Messenger of Allah -prayer and peace be upon him- had mentioned.’

He replied: ‘I have nothing except what you saw.’  When I turned to leave, he called me back and said: ‘I have nothing except what you saw, but I do not find within myself any deceitfulness for any of the Muslims, and I do not feel jealous toward anyone for any good that Allah has granted him.’  So Abdul-Allah said: ‘This is what made you reach that degree.’ ”  Related by Ahmad with a narration based on Al-Bukhari and Imam Muslim, and Al-Nasa’i, Abu Ya’la, and Al-Bazzar (Who named the obscure man as Sa’d).

 

============================

Leave a Reply

