Faithful Women (Umm Habibah and Abraha)

    عن أم المؤمنين أمِّ حَبِيبَةَ رضي الله عنها، قالت: ( رأيتُ في المنام كأنَّ آتيا يقول لي: يا أم المؤمنين، ففزعتُ وأولتها أن رسول الله صلى الله عليه وآله وسلم يتزوجني.

 قالت: فما هو إلا أن انْقَضَتْ عِدَّتِي، فما شَعَرْتُ إلا برسول النجاشي على بابي يستأذن، فإذا جارية له يقال لها: أَبْرَهَةَ كَانَتْ تَقُومُ عَلَى ثِيَابِهِ وَدَهْنِهِ، فدخلت علي فقالت: إن الملك يقول لك: إن رسول الله صلى الله عليه وآله وسلم كتب إلي أن أزوجك، فقلت: بشرك الله بخير، وقالت: يقول لك الملك: وَكِّلِي مَنْ يُزَوِّجُكِ. فأرسلَتْ إلى خالدِ بن سعيد بن العاص فَوَكَّلَتْهُ، وَأَعْطَتْ أَبْرَهَةَ سوارين من فضة وخَدَمَتَيْنِ كانتا في رجليها وخواتيم فضة كانت في أصابع رجليها سرورا بما بشرتها به.

  فلما كان العشي أمر النجاشيُّ جعفرَ بن أبي طالب ومن هناك من المسلمين فحضروا فخطب النجاشي، فقال: الحمد لله الملك القدوس السلام المؤمن المهيمن العزيز الجبار، الحمد لله حق حمده، وأشهد أن لا إله إلا الله وأن محمدا عبده ورسوله، وأنه الذي بشر به عيسى ابن مريم عليه الصلاة والسلام، أما بعد: فإن رسول الله صلى الله عليه وآله وسلم كتب إلي أن أزوجه أم حبيبة بنت سفيان، فأجبتُ إلى ما دعا إليه رسول الله صلى الله عليه وآله وسلم وقد أصدقتها أربعمائة دينار، ثم سكب الدنانير بين يدي القوم، فتكلم خالد بن سعيد فقال: الحمد لله أحمده وأستعينه وأستنصره، وأشهد أن لا إله إلا الله وأشهد أن محمدا عبده ورسوله، { أَرْسَلَ رَسُولَهُ بِالْهُدَى وَدِينِ الْحَقِّ لِيُظْهِرَهُ عَلَى الدِّينِ كُلِّهِ وَلَوْ كَرِهَ الْمُشْرِكُونَ}، أما بعد: فقد أجبتُ إلى ما دعا إليه رسول الله صلى الله عليه وآله وسلم وَزَوَّجْتُهُ أُمَّ حَبِيبَةَ بِنْتَ أَبِي سُفْيَانَ فبارك الله لرسوله، ودفع الدنانير إلى خالد بن سعيد فقبضها، ثم أرادوا أن يقوموا، فقال: اجلسوا فإن سنة الأنبياء عليهم الصلاة والسلام إذا تزوجوا أن يؤكل الطعام على التزويج، فدعا بطعام فأكلوا، ثم تفرقوا.

  قالت أم حبيبة: فلما وصل إلي المال، أرسلت إلى أبرهة التي بشرتني، فقلت لها: إني كنت أعطيتك ما أعطيتك يومئذ ولا مال بيدي وهذه خمسون مثقالا فخذيها فاستعيني بها، فَأَخْرَجَتْ إِلَيَّ حِقَّةً فيها جميع ما أعطيتها فردته إلي، وقالت: عزم علي الملك أن لا أرزأك شيئا وأنا التي أقوم على ثيابه ودهنه، وقد اتبعت دين رسول الله صلى الله عليه وآله وسلم وأسلمتُ لله، وقد أمر الملك نساءه أن يبعثن إليك بكل ما عندهن من العطر. فلما كَانَ الْغَدُ جَاءَتْنِي بِعُودٍ وَوَرْسٍ وَعَنْبَرٍ وزَبَادٍ كَثِيرٍ، وَقَدِمْتُ بذلك كله على رسول الله صلى الله عليه وآله وسلم وكان يراه علي وعندي فلا ينكر.
ثم قالت أبرهة: فَحَاجَتِي إِلَيْكِ أن تُقْرِئِي رَسُولَ اللَّهِ صلى الله عليه وآله وسلم مني السلامَ وَتُعْلِمِيهِ أَنِّي قَدِ اتَّبَعْتُ دِينَهُ، قالت: ثم لَطَفَتْ بي وكانت هي التي جهزتني، وكانت كلما دخلت علي تقول: لا تنسي حاجتي إليك، قالت: فلما قدمنا على رسول الله صلى الله عليه وآله وسلم أخبرته كيف كانت ا الْخِطْبَةُ وما فعلت بي أبرهة، فَتَبَسَّمَ رَسُولُ الله صلى الله عليه وآله وسلم، وأقرأته منها السلام، فقال: “وَعَلَيْهَا السَّلَامُ وَرَحْمَةُ اللَّهِ وَبَرَكَاتُهُ”).  رواه الحاكم.

  English Translation:

Narrated Umm Hebeebeh -may God be pleased with her- said: “I once saw in a dream as if someone came to me and said: ‘O Mother of the Believers’.  I was frightened and interpreted the dream as Prophet Muhammad -prayer and peace be upon him- would marry me [in Qur’an, God called the wives of the Prophet as Mothers of the Believers].’

And indeed, as soon as I finished my widowhood waiting period (Iddeh), a messenger from the Al-Nejashi (Negus or King of Ethiopia) came to me asking permission to enter.  She was a female servant by the name of Abreheh who used to take care of the King’s clothes and perfume.  Abreheh came in and said: ‘The king says to you: `Appoint someone as your representative in marriage.`’  So I sent for Khalid Ibn Sa’eed Ibn Al-Aas and requested him to be my representative in marriage.  I gave Abreheh two bracelets of silver, as well as two bangles and silver rings that were around my feet, out of happiness and as a reward for her for bearing the good news.

When it was evening, Al-Nejashi (Negus or King of Ethiopia) invited Ja’far Ibn Abi Talib (the Prophet’s cousin) and all the Muslims present.  Al-Nejashi then delivered a speech and performed the marriage ceremony.  Al-Nejashi said:

‘All praise be to God, the King, the Holy, the Peace and Perfection, the Bestower of Faith and security, the Guardian, the Exalted in Might, and the Compeller.  All Praise be to God as worthy of Him.  I bear witness that there is no deity worthy of worship except God, and that Muhammad is His servant and Messenger whom Jesus son of Marry peace be upon him foretold about.  Then, Prophet Muhammad -prayer and peace be upon him- has sent a message to me requesting the hand of Umm Habeebah in marriage. So I am fulfilling the request of the Prophet, and I am giving her four hundred deenar (gold coins) as bridal money on behalf of the Messenger of God -prayer and peace be upon him.’  Al-Nejashi then poured the money in front of the gathering.

Then Khalid Ibn Sa’eed spoke and said: ‘All praise be to God, I praise Him, seek His help and assistance. I bear witness that there is no deity worthy of worship except God, and that Muhammad is His servant and Messenger.  God says: { It is He (God) Who has sent His Messenger (Muhammad) with guidance and the religion of truth (Islam), to make it superior over all religions even though the polytheists may hate it} (Surah 9, verse 33).  Then, I am fulfilling the request of Prophet Muhammad -prayer and peace be upon him, and have accepted his marriage proposal for Umm Habeebah on her behalf, so may God bless Prophet Muhammad in it.’  Al-Nejashi then gave the money to Khalid Ibn Sa’eed and he accepted it.  When the gathering wanted to disperse, Al-Nejashi said: ‘Sit down for it is the habit of prophets -peace be upn them- to throw a banquet after marriage.’  He then called for food and they ate, and then left.

When the money was given to me, I called for Abreheh who gave me the good news.  I said to her: ‘I had given you what I had for I did not have money with me at the time, so take this amount of fifty Deenar and use it for your needs.’  She took out a pouch that had everything I had given her and said: ‘The king has resolved that I should not take anything away from you, and I am the one who takes care of his clothes and perfume.  Indeed, I have followed the religion of Prophet Muhammad -prayer and peace be upon him and his family- and embraced Islam for the sake of God.  The king has asked all of his womenfolk to send what they have of perfume to you.’

On the following day, Abreheh came to me with lots of aloes, wers (plant with red dye), ambergris, and musk.  I brought all of them with me when I went to the Messenger of God -prayer and peace be upon him, and he used to see it with me and never disapproved of it.

Abreheh then said: ‘My request to you is that you convey my salaam to Prophet Muhammad -prayer and peace be upon him- and inform him that I have followed his religion (Islam).’  She then took care of me and made me ready for the marriage ceremony.  Every time she visited me afterwards, she would remind me and say: ‘Do not forget my request.’  When we went home and I met Prophet Muhammad -prayer and peace be upon him, I told him about the marriage ceremony and about Ahreheh’s nice treatment, so he smiled.  I then conveyed her salaam to him, and he said: ‘And peace, the mercy and blessings of God be on her.’ ”  Related by Al-Hakim.

 =================================

 

Leave a comment